Australian Centre for Water
and Environmental Biotechnology

AWMC Finalists for Qld Water Awards

Thursday, 31 August 2017
  • Queensland Water Awards

Three researchers at the Advanced Water Management Centre have been nominated as finalists in the Australian Water Association's Queensland Water Awards.

The Australian Water Association Awards Program is an annual program to celebrate and promote the outstanding work achieved by individuals and organisations in the water sector.

AWMC Director, Professor Zhiguo Yuan has been nominated for Queensland Water Professional of the Year, this award honours individuals who have displayed passion and commitment to the water industry, while also demonstrating leadership and influence.

Dr Katrin Doederer has been nominated for Queensland Young Water Professional of the Year, this award recognises young water professionals who have outstanding career achievements to date and who have the potential to play a large and influential role in the water industry.

The Purple Phototrophic Bacteria Project, a joint project between the Advanced Water Management Centre and the CRC for Water Sensitive Cities, has been nominated for the Research Innovation Award. This is awarded to any Australian institution, organisation, individual or company that has made a significant contribution to water research.

The winners will be announced at the AWA Qld Gala Dinner and Awards Night on September 8, 2017.

Winners of the State Water Awards are then in the running to win AWA's National Water Award, announced at OzWater in May 2018.