Australian Centre for Water
and Environmental Biotechnology

Hon Prof Mark van Loosdrecht wins 2012 Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize

Tuesday, 03 April 2012
Environmental Biotechnologist Professor Mark van Loosdrecht wins Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012

Advanced Water Management Centre Honorary Professor Mark van Loosdrecht has won the 2012 Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize. The news was announced at Singapore International Water Week that Prof Mark van Loosdrecht had been awarded the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2012 for his "breakthrough contributions in creating sustainable solutions in the field of wastewater treatment".

The highlight of the Singapore International Water Week, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is an international water award that recognises outstanding contributions towards solving global water problems by either applying technologies or implementing policies and programmes, which benefit humanity.

As the fifth recipient of the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize chosen from over 61 illustrious nominations received from across 25 countries, Prof van Loosdrecht is recognised for pioneering an innovative biological process that provides a cost-effective, robust and sustainable way to remove unwanted pollutants from used water. This was made possible by the discovery of a unique group of bacteria which removes pollutants in used water using less oxygen and no added organic carbon compared to conventional processes. His process named Anammox can greatly reduce the overall energy consumption, chemical usage and carbon emissions of conventional used water treatment plant.

Congratulations Mark!

Read more ...